T-SQL Tuesday #90: The Death of the DBA in a DevOps World Has Been Greatly Exaggerated

It’s time for another iteration of the blog party known as T-SQL Tuesday. This month’s theme is Shipping Database Changes hosted by James Anderson (|@). Head on over to John’s announcement post and join in with the party by writing your own post or by just reading those that are participating. The topic of database changes put me in mind of a recent discussion on a professional SQL Server related discussion list. Someone sent an email declaring the DBA role
read more

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: Row Versioned Data Warehouses

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: Row Versioned Data Warehouses Subject: Row Versioned Data Warehouses Start Time: Thursday, December 15, 2011 6:00 PM US Pacific Time (December 16, 2011 2:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, December 15, 2011 7:00 PM US Pacific Time (December 16, 2011 3:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Jeremy Huppatz (Blog|@OzzieMedes) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=B77TSH&role=attend&pw=dGC-%3B88%275 Row Versioned Data Warehouses Jeremy will discuss the strengths and disadvantages of a row-versioned data warehouse design in the context of a real world case
read more

September 15 Data Arch VC Meeting: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals

September 15 Data Arch VC Meeting: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals Subject: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals Level: 200 (Intermediate) Start Time: Thursday, September 15, 2011 7:00 PM US Central Time (September 16, 2011 12:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, September 15, 2011 8:00 PM US Central Time (September 16, 2011 1:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Robert L Davis (blog|@SQLSoldier) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=FN5BTB&role=attend&pw=QB%7DSwM%7D%405 Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals The architect job title has many
read more

August 18 Data Arch VC Meeting: John Racer on Data Warehouse Architecture

August 18 Data Arch VC Meeting: John Racer on Data Warehouse Architecture Subject: Data Warehouse Architecture Level: 200 (Intermediate) Start Time: Thursday, August 18, 2011 1:00 PM US Central Time (August 18, 2011 6:00 PM GMT) End Time: Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:00 PM US Central Time (August 18, 2011 7:00 PM GMT) Presenter: John Racer (blog|@SpeedRacer) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=TQ6GQT&role=attend&pw=5p_%28%3BB3df Data Warehouse Architecture Data Warehousing is a large and often misunderstood concept. Marketers, Authors, and IT Departments all have
read more

July 21 Data Arch VC Meeting: Gaurav Aggarwal on Microsoft – Readying on "Hadoop"

July 21 Data Arch VC Meeting: Gaurav Aggarwal on Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” Subject: Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” Start Time: Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:00 PM US Eastern Time (July 22, 2011 2:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, July 21, 2011 10:00 PM US Eastern Time ( July 22, 2011 3:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Gaurav Aggarwal (blog) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=R9J5WW&role=attend&pw=Zf%2B-Q%6098k Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” This session will provide overview of different options on Microsoft platform for
read more