Size Matters: 2 Products to Accelerate SQL Traffic

I talked previously about network pipelines and how to get the most out of a fat network in the post Network Packet Size: to Fiddle With or Not to Fiddle With. If you need to move large amounts of data and have a network infrastructure that can support a larger then normal packet size, you can get tremendous performance boosts by increasing packet size. The big performance boosts can only be realized if every part of the path between server
read more

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: Row Versioned Data Warehouses

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: Row Versioned Data Warehouses Subject: Row Versioned Data Warehouses Start Time: Thursday, December 15, 2011 6:00 PM US Pacific Time (December 16, 2011 2:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, December 15, 2011 7:00 PM US Pacific Time (December 16, 2011 3:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Jeremy Huppatz (Blog|@OzzieMedes) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=B77TSH&role=attend&pw=dGC-%3B88%275 Row Versioned Data Warehouses Jeremy will discuss the strengths and disadvantages of a row-versioned data warehouse design in the context of a real world case
read more

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: On beyond Zebra AdventureWorks OR where did I go wrong?

PASS Data Arch. Virtual Chapter: On beyond Zebra AdventureWorks OR where did I go wrong? Subject: On beyond Zebra AdventureWorks or where did I go wrong? Level: 200 (Intermediate) Start Time: Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:00 PM US Eastern Time (November 18, 2011 1:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, November 17, 2011 9:00 PM US Eastern Time (November 18, 2011 2:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Steve Simon (LinkedIn) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=K32S7T&role=attend&pw=q%3Fp4cW%24Mg On beyond Zebra AdventureWorks OR where did I go
read more

September 15 Data Arch VC Meeting: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals

September 15 Data Arch VC Meeting: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals Subject: Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals Level: 200 (Intermediate) Start Time: Thursday, September 15, 2011 7:00 PM US Central Time (September 16, 2011 12:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, September 15, 2011 8:00 PM US Central Time (September 16, 2011 1:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Robert L Davis (blog|@SQLSoldier) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=FN5BTB&role=attend&pw=QB%7DSwM%7D%405 Architecture Career Paths for SQL Server Professionals The architect job title has many
read more

August 18 Data Arch VC Meeting: John Racer on Data Warehouse Architecture

August 18 Data Arch VC Meeting: John Racer on Data Warehouse Architecture Subject: Data Warehouse Architecture Level: 200 (Intermediate) Start Time: Thursday, August 18, 2011 1:00 PM US Central Time (August 18, 2011 6:00 PM GMT) End Time: Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:00 PM US Central Time (August 18, 2011 7:00 PM GMT) Presenter: John Racer (blog|@SpeedRacer) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=TQ6GQT&role=attend&pw=5p_%28%3BB3df Data Warehouse Architecture Data Warehousing is a large and often misunderstood concept. Marketers, Authors, and IT Departments all have
read more

July 21 Data Arch VC Meeting: Gaurav Aggarwal on Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop”

July 21 Data Arch VC Meeting: Gaurav Aggarwal on Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” Subject: Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” Start Time: Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:00 PM US Eastern Time (July 22, 2011 2:00 AM GMT) End Time: Thursday, July 21, 2011 10:00 PM US Eastern Time ( July 22, 2011 3:00 AM GMT) Presenter: Gaurav Aggarwal (blog) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=R9J5WW&role=attend&pw=Zf%2B-Q%6098k Microsoft – Readying on “Hadoop” This session will provide overview of different options on Microsoft platform for
read more

June Meeting – Data Architecture VC

June Meeting – Data Architecture VC Data Architecture VC presents Karen López: Subject: You’ve Just Inherited a Data Model: Now What? Start Time: Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:00 PM US Eastern Time (7:00 PM GMT) End Time: Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:00 PM US Eastern Time (8:00 PM GMT) Presenter: Karen López (blog|@datachick) Live Meeting Link: https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=T4ZKMM&role=attend&pw=Q%3A%26%24h%28-9m You’ve Just Inherited a Data Model: Now What? The good news is that someone else has done the hard work of architecting a
read more

PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter Reborn

PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter Reborn The PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter had its first official meeting and presentation in October 2010. Not much happened after that. The founder and leader of the virtual chapter found himself unable to dedicate his time to the chapter and earlier this month, he sent an email to the rest of the group who had signed on to help stepping down from the chapter. The other members of the group decided on new chapter
read more